Board of Directors

 Una J. M. Glass – President

Ms. Glass joined Coastwalk California as Executive Director in 2008 until her retirement in August of 2017. Una is now serving the Coastwalk mission as its newest Board Member.  In her tenure as Executive Director, Una  nurtured Coastwalk’s expansion to that of a Statewide organization with the establishment of the  California Coastal Trail Association. She is a long term supporter of the coast and a dedicated conservation advocate. She brought thirty plus years of management experience to Coastwalk having served in executive positions in both non-profit and for profit organizations. She has been a principal in several software and high tech businesses, and served as the CFO for a public broadcasting station for seven years. Ms. Glass is also experienced in public policy and issue advocacy having worked as a consultant in that arena and as staff to an elected official. She has served on the boards of several environmental as well as business organizations.  She served as Mayor of Sebastopol, California, is currently a Sebastopol City Council member and also services on the Advisory Board of the Robert Redford Conservancy for Southern California Sustainability. She lives in Sonoma County.


Ralph Faust- Humboldt County

Ralph Faust is a graduate of the University of Chicago Law School, who has practiced law in California for almost fifty years. He has worked as a lawyer for and served as an appointed public official of a number of California state and local agencies, including as Interim County Counsel and on the Planning Commission of Humboldt County, and for more than twenty years as the Chief Counsel for the California Coastal Commission. Since his retirement from the Commission he has maintained a solo law practice specializing in coastal and environmental law.


Jack Leutza – Sonoma County

Jack Leutza has been a Coastwalk volunteer and member since 1990.  A volunteer with the San Francisco County Walks team, Jack has coordinated more than 10 summer walks, been a day hike leader, wrangled campers gear and cooked meals for walkers. Jack and his wife Marsha have enjoyed  eight other Coastwalk county walks.  Jack is a fourth generation coastal Californian, a UC Davis Political Science/Economics graduate, and retired from a 40 public service career.  For more than 30 years, Jack was an analyst, policy advisory and manager at the California Public Utilities Commission (CPUC) where he advised Commissioners on energy and and telecommunications regulatory issues. He represented the CPUC and the state before Federal Agencies and  Congress advocating policies and consumer practices in California’s public interest. Jack is also committed to community and environmental issues. He was a Proposition 20 volunteer in the early 1970s and strongly advocated Coastal preservation policies. He has served as a board member for the Haight Ashbury Free Clinic’s Women’s Needs Center and been Board President of an affordable child care center for San Francisco government workers. In retirement, Jack became a UC Master Gardner and is actively supports community education that promotes sustainable and low toxic garden practices.  After many years residence in the central Bay Area, Jack has lived in Petaluma since 2004.

Karen Ferlito- Monterey County

Karen Ferlito joins the Coastwalk Board of Directors as the representative for the City of Carmel by the Sea.  Karen and her husband, Hugo, have live in Carmel for over 30 years.  Karen served on the City of Carmel’s Forest and Beach Commission for 16 years.  She also served on the Board of the Big Sur Land Trust for 9 years, including 2 as Board President.  Karen is the President of Friends of Mission Trail Nature Preserve.  She is a founding member of Friends of Carmel Forest and LandWatch Monterey County.  She has also been a volunteer event board member of the Big Sur International Marathon.  Karen was elected to a 4 year term on the City Council of Carmel by the Sea in November 2020.

Dr. Charles Lester – Board Secretary

Santa Barbara County

Dr. Charles Lester is the director of the Ocean and Coastal Policy Center in the Marine Science Institute at UC Santa Barbara, where he researches, writes, and consults about sea level rise, coastal resilience, and other aspects of California coastal law and policy. Charles previously worked for the California Coastal Commission for twenty years, including serving as the agency’s fourth executive director from 2011 to 2016.  Previously, Charles was an assistant professor of political science at the University of Colorado, Boulder, where he taught environmental law and policy, with a focus on public lands governance and coastal zone management. He received his Ph.D. and J.D. from UC Berkeley, and a B.A. in Geochemistry from Columbia University.


Greg Cox – San Diego County

Greg Cox represents the First District on the San Diego County Board of Supervisors.  Supervisor Cox has served on the California Coastal Commission and was sworn in as President of the National Association of Counties in July, 2018. Supervisor Cox has a long and distinguished history of public service. Prior to joining the San Diego County Board of Supervisors in 1995, Supervisor Cox served on the Chula Vista City Council and as the city’s Mayor. He also served in the Governor’s office of Planning and Research and was an educator and public school administrator. He has served as the President of both the California League of Cities and the California State Association of Counties. Greg Cox has been a dedicated advocate for trails, parks, and outdoor recreation. He has had a critical role in the creation of the Bayshore Bikeway, a 24-mile loop that circles San Diego Bay and has been recognized as one of the best bike paths in the nation. He is also working to complete the San Diego portion of the California Coastal Trail.